Meeting Minutes Region 6 San Jacinto Regional Flood Planning Group Meeting April 15, 2021 2:00PM

CISCO WebEx Virtual Meeting

Voting Member	Interest Category	Present (x) /Absent () / Alternate
		Present (*)
Russ A. Poppe	Chair, Flood Districts	X
Alia Vinson	Vice Chair, Water Districts	X
Alisa Max	Secretary, Counties	X
Gene Fisseler	At-Large, Public	X
Matthew Barrett	At-Large, River Authorities	X
Elisa Macia Donovan	Agricultural Interests	X
Jenna Armstrong	Small Business	X
Paul E. Lock	Electric Generating Utilities	X
Sarah P. Bernhardt	Environmental Interests	X
Stephen Costello	Municipalities	X
Timothy E. Buscha	Industries	X
Todd Burrer	Water utilities	

Non-voting Member	Agency	Present(x)/Absent()/ Alternate Present (*)
Bill Adams	Texas Parks and Wildlife Department	
Natalie Johnson	Texas Division of Emergency Management	
Kristin Lambrecht	Texas Department of Agriculture	Х
Joel Clark	Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board	
Colleen Jones	General Land Office	X Alternate
Megan Ingram	Texas Water Development Board	X Alternate
Kelly Mills	Texas Commission on Environmental Quality	Х
Jeff Taebel	Houston-Galveston Area Council	Χ
Ellie Alkhoury	Texas Department of Transportation	X Alternate
Tom Heidt	Port Houston	
Michael Turco	Harris-Galveston Subsidence District	
Brandon Wade	Region H	

<u>Liaisons</u>	Agency	Present(x)/Absent()/ Alternate Present (*)
Mark Vogler	Lower Brazos	
Todd Burrer	Trinity Region	
Timothy Buscha	Neches Region	Х
Michael Turco	Lower Brazos	

Quorum:

Quorum: Yes

Number of voting members or alternates that were present: 11 Number required for quorum per current voting membership of 12: 7

Alfred Garcia
Andres Salazar
Andy Palermo
Brooke Bacuetes
Clarissa Perez
Cory Stull
Craig Maske
Elie Alkhoury
Fatima Berrios
Hector Olmos
James Bronikowski

Kena Ware
Maggie Puckett
Matt Lopez
Michael Keck
Michael Reedy
Reem Zoun
Reid Mrsny
Richard Bagans
Robert Kosar
Scott Elmer

Unknown Caller: 2

Jill Boullion

All meeting materials were available for the public at: http://www.twdb.texas.gov/flood/planning/regions/schedule.asp.

^{**}Meeting attendee names were gathered from those who entered information on the GoToWebinar meeting.

AGENDA ITEM NO. 1: Call to Order

Mr. Poppe, Chair of the SJRFPG, called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM and welcomed all attendees.

AGENDA ITEM NO. 2: Welcome and Roll Call

Ms. Max, Secretary of the SJRFPG, took roll call and a quorum was established.

AGENDA ITEM NO. 3: Registered Public Comments on Agenda Items 4 (limit of 3 minutes per person) No registered Public comments were received.

AGENDA ITEM NO. 4: Discussion and possible action on the selection of the technical consultant to carry out the regional flood plan for SJRFPG Region 6.

Ms. Max stated that the Consultant Selection Committee recommended selection of a team led by Freese and Nichols (FNI) as the technical consultant to carry out the SJRFPG Regional Flood Plan. She described the process the Planning Group Sponsor took to select the technical consultant and indicated that three firms had submitted statement of qualifications (SOQ): Freese and Nichols, Moffatt and Nichol, and Walter P Moore.

Ms. Max then explained the selection criteria and the reasons for the selection.

Cory Stull, the FNI project manager, then introduced himself. He stated his background in flood planning, feasibility studies, transportation, policy, ecosystem restoration and flood mitigation projects. He stated FNI had successfully completed 40 Regional Water Plans on time and within budget, and ensured the SJRFPG Regional Flood Plan would be personalized to the SJRFPG.

Mr. Poppe asked if Harris County Commissioners Court had approved the authorization to negotiate a contract with FNI, and Ms. Max stated it had been approved.

Mr. Buscha moved to approve selection of the FNI team. Mr. Fisseler seconded the motion. All voting members voted in favor of the motion, except Ms. Bernhardt who abstained from voting, thus the motion carried.

Ms. Bernhardt stated she had a conflict of interest with FNI. Mr. Barrett stated he had a conflict of interest with the Walter P Moore group, but since they were not selected by the Consultant Selection Committee, he was able to vote on the selection.

AGENDA ITEM NO. 5: Public comments – limit 3 minutes per person

There were no registered comments, however Andres Salazar made a public comment congratulating the FNI team.

Mr. Bronikowski also made a comment to state the grant agreement between TWDB and the Planning Group Sponsor – Harris County had been fully executed.

AGENDA ITEM NO. 6: Meeting Adjourn

Mr. Poppe adjourned the meeting at 2:24PM.

Airi Man

Alisa Max, Secretary

Russell A Popps

Russ Poppe, Chair